Allows users to create invite links to the server, which other users can use to join the server. Users do not need this permission to share existing invite links, including the vanity URL, only to create new invites.
This does not allow users to add bots; that requires Manage Server.
Grants users all permissions in the server and in all channels. Also prevents users from being timed out by anyone. This is still subject to role hierarchy, so admins cannot kick/ban anyone not below them and can be kicked/banned by anyone above them.
This is a dangerous permission to grant! Administrators gain permission to do anything - all permissions, as well as access to all channels. They are not immune to moderation except for timeouts, but deny overrides will have no effect on them.
Allows users to create, edit, and delete channels. Editing channels includes changing the channel's name, topic, bitrate, video quality, user limit, region, slowmode, auto-archive duration for threads, etc.
This permission does not allow users to edit channel overrides; that is part of Manage Roles.
Allows users to edit server properties such as the name, icon, banner, etc. Also allows users to add applications to the server (e.g. bots). Also allows users to configure built-in AutoMod and users with this permission always bypass AutoMod.
This does not allow users to delete the server, change the 2FA requirement for moderation, or apply for Discord partnership. Those are only available to the server owner.
Allows users to see the audit log which keeps track of moderation and administrative actions for a certain amount of time. They can see all actions, even those that they do not have permission to perform.
Allows users to see channels and see incoming messages while focused on the channel. Users can see category channels if they can see at least one channel in it, and seeing a category does not automatically allow them to see any or all channels in it.
The ability to see messages that were sent when the user was offline or the channel was unfocused is controlled by Read Message History.
Allows users to delete other users' messages, pin messages, publish other users' messages in announcement channels, and remove embeds from other users' messages. Except for pinning messages, the other three are always available for one's own messages. This is not subject to role hierarchy.
Allows users to view messages in channels that they can view, even if they were not focused on the channel at the time, and allows them to search back through all past messages.
Without this permission, users will see "You do not have permission to view the history of this channel." and will only be able to see messages received by their client while they were in that channel.
Info for the Mention <code>@everyone</code>, <code>@here</code>, and All Roles permission
Allows users to use @everyone to ping all server members who can see the channel, @here to ping all online members who can see the channel, and ping any role regardless of if it has the "Allow anyone to @mention this role" setting enabled. This is not subject to role hierarchy.
Allows users to see the server insights page, which provides information about server health, members joining and leaving, which invites they are using, member retention, participant message count, etc.
Allows users to speak in voice channels that they are connected to. This does not allow users to speak in stage channels; stage moderators are appointed separately per stage channel (via the channel permission settings) and choose who is allowed to speak.
Allows users to force-mute users (including themselves), preventing them from speaking in any channel regardless of if they have the Speak permission. Also allows users to undo force-mutes, including on themselves. Users who have muted themselves cannot be muted by anyone else. This is not subject to role hierarchy.
Allows users to force-deafen users (including themselves), preventing them from hearing what is happening in voice or stage channels. Also allows users to undo force-deafens, including on themselves. Users who have deafened themselves cannot be undeafened by anyone else. This is not subject to role hierarchy.
Unlike how self-deafening works, a user can be force-deafened but still allowed to speak. This can be used to disable music bots' ability to hear, which is useful if you are concerned about spying.
Allows users to move members who are already in a voice channel in this server into another voice channel. The user performing this action must have Connect in the target channel, but the target user does not need to be able to see or join it on their own. Users cannot be connected by another user and can never be moved between servers even if the user has this permission in both servers. This is not subject to role hierarchy.
Allows users to upload, rename, and delete emojis and stickers. Also allows bots to control which roles can use emojis, which is a little-known feature that isn't very useful and isn't supported by most bots.
Allows users to use slash commands and context menu commands (right clicking a message or user and selecting "Apps").
This permission is not needed for the bot to support application commands; that is the application.commands scope set when inviting the bot. If you are not seeing a bot's commands and you gave it this scope, you likely have too many bots; if you have over 50 bots, some will no longer be able to register commands.
In fact, this permission currently does nothing for bots.
Allows users to timeout other members, disabling all permissions except View Channel and Read Message History. Some other features like adding to existing reactions or using message components (buttons and dropdowns) are also disabled.
Users with Administrator cannot be timed out. If a user is timed out and gains the permission, their timeout will be canceled. Even if an administrator could be timed out, it would take no effect.